Community Advisory Board

The Hormel Institute Community Advisory Board provides recommendations and actions related to community engagement and educational opportunities in Southeastern Minnesota and surrounding states related to the biomedical research, training and education happening at The Hormel Institute. This Community Advisory Board also monitors the effectiveness of authentic community engagement approaches and current Hormel Institute community outreach and education activities.

Chair: Oballa Oballa — Hormel Foods and City of Austin City Counsel

Chris Weis — Mower County Public Health

Sara Lee — Mayo Clinic

Trish Harren — Mower County

Gema Alvarado-Guerrero — Parenting Resource Center, Inc.

Dewey Schara — Austin Public Schools

Laura Helle — Austin Area Arts

Catherine Haslag — Riverland Community College, Science Fair Mentoring

Jessica Vasquez — U of MN Extension, Youth Development